Category Archives: prize giving

  1. 2017 H G Wells Competition Winners: The Stories

    November 20, 2017 by hgwellscompetition

    The H G Wells Short Story Competition are delighted to present a free PDF collection of the three award winning stories from our 2017 competition, “Venus Rising”, “When the Call Comes” and “Alone into the Alone”.

  2. 2017 H G Wells Competition Winners

    November 20, 2017 by hgwellscompetition

    We are very pleased to announce that the Margaret and Reg Turnill Prize of £1000 was won by Hazel Atkinson …
    Continue reading

  3. 2016 winners and 2017 theme announced!

    November 30, 2016 by hgwellscompetition

    There were over 90 people attending the 2016 H G Wells Short Story Competition Awards at the Grand, Folkestone on …
    Continue reading

  4. Shortlists Announced!

    September 20, 2016 by hgwellscompetition

    There has been a bumper crop of entries this year for the H G Wells Short Story Competition 2016. We …
    Continue reading

  5. Photos from the 2013 prize giving

    Leave a comment

    February 18, 2014 by hgwellscompetition

    The Grand Short Story Prize was won by Kate Jefford for “The Yama”. Here’s Kate (right) receiving The Grand Prize …
    Continue reading

H.G. Wells Short Story Competition


Theme: Light
Closing date: 16 July 2017

For further information, please read the rules and FAQs below. If you cannot find the answer to your query there, you can email