2023 HG Wells Short Story Competition Winners and Awards


November 19, 2023 by Tim Prater

At the 2023 HG Wells Short Story Competition Award Ceremony on Zoom on Sunday 19th November, the winners were announced as:

  • 2023 Margaret and Reg Turnill Prize Winner: Gloria Mesa for Rain Dance
  • 2023 Senior Prize Winner: Keltie Zubko for The Last Teardown of Eleanor

The 2023 Anthology of “Motion” is available now on Amazon at:

We’re also delighted to announce the theme of the 2024 competition: The Fool. Make of it what you will!

The Award Ceremony was broadcast on our Facebook Page at https://www.facebook.com/HGWellsShortStoryCompetition “live” and will be available to watch back until the end of 2023. The ceremony started with a presentation by Dr Paul March-Russell on Men Like Gods.

2022 Margaret and Reg Turnill Prize

2023 Senior Prize


Theme: Motion

Winners to be announced Sunday 19th November.

For further information, please read the rules and FAQs below. If you cannot find the answer to your query there, you can email hgwellscompetition@gmail.com

Join us on Facebook

On Twitter