Power switch

2022 HG Wells Short Story Competition Winners and Awards

At the 2022 HG Wells Short Story Competition Award Ceremony on Zoom on Sunday 20th November, the winners were announced as:

  • 2022 Margaret and Reg Turnill Prize Winner: Amelie Roscoe for Salting the Earth
  • 2022 Senior Prize Winner: Stephen O’Reilly for Hibernicus Rising

The 2022 Anthology of Switch is available now on Amazon at:

  • Elsewhere search on Amazon for “Switch Joyce”

We’re also delighted to announce the theme of the 2022 competition: Switch. Make of it what you will!

The Award Ceremony was broadcast on our Facebook Page at https://www.facebook.com/HGWellsShortStoryCompetition “live” and will be available to watch back until the end of 2022. The ceremony started with presentations by two speakers:

  • Tony Quarrington on Sandgate as home to HG Wells [Video]
  • Lord Boeteng on the Importance of Books [Video]

2022 Margaret and Reg Turnill Prize

  • Ginny Martin reading from Binding Switch
  • Katie Farrell reading from Discernment
  • Winner: Amelie Roscoe reading from Salting the Earth
  • Adriana Tihan reading from Switch
  • Ryan Lee reading from The Animal Boy

2022 Senior Prize

  • Jamie Littlewood reading from (The Tale Of) Mr Motivator [Video]
  • Sasha Gill reading from And Then Come the Pixies [Unable to attend]
  • David McVey reading from Ben Kingsley Time-warped My Tennis Ball [Reading Live]
  • Winner: Stephen O’Reilly reading from Hibernicus Rising [Reading Live]
  • Kim A. Bigelow reading from My Refrigerator Won’t Let Me [Reading Live]
  • Susannah Rickards reading from Olive Branches [Video]
  • Amanda D’Errico reading from The Rehzinin [Video]
  • Adrian Paul reading from What Would the Jackmans Do [Reading Live]