Power switch

HG Wells Competition Shortlists 2022

We are delighted to announce our two shortlists for the prestigious H G Wells Short Story Competition 2022 on the theme “Switch”.

The judges have selected the following stories for the 2022 shortlists (listed below in alphabetical story order only).

Shortlist for Junior Competition, The Margaret and Reg Turnill Prize of £1,000

Ginny MartinGBBinding Switch
Katie FarrellIEDiscernment
Amelie RoscoeGBSalting the Earth
Adriana TihanGBSwitch
Ryan LeeKRThe Animal Boy

Shortlist for the Senior Competition, The Grand Prize of £500

Ricardo VosseGB(The Tale Of) Mr Motivator
Sasha GillGBAnd Then Come the Pixies
David McVeyGBBen Kingsley Time-warped My Tennis Ball
Stephen O’ReillyIEHibernicus Rising
Peter AdamsonGBI Need You To Be Harold
Kim A. BigelowUSMy Refrigerator Won’t Let Me
Susannah RickardsGBOlive Branches
Shagufta TGBPeeling
Amanda D’ErricoUSThe Rehzinin
Adrian PaulGBWhat Would the Jackmans Do

Many congratulations to the shortlisted writers. We look forward to meeting many of you at the online Awards Ceremony on Sunday 20th November 2022. Further details will be emailed to shortlisted authors soon.