2021 HG Wells Short Story Competition Award Winners and Ceremony

At the 2021 HG Wells Short Story Competition Award Ceremony on Zoom on Sunday 21st November, the winners were announced as:

  • 2021 Margaret and Reg Turnill Prize Winner: Sarah-Kate Simons for Swamp Thing
  • 2021 Senior Prize Winner: Peter Collins for The Domino Effect

We had our biggest entry ever this year for both competitions. Congratulations to all our shortlisted authors, and especially our winners Sarah-Kate and Peter!

The 2021 Anthology of Mask will be available soon:

We’re also delighted to announce the theme of the 2022 competition: Switch. Make of it what you will!

The Award Ceremony was broadcast on our Facebook Page at “live” and will be available to watch back until the end of 2021.


Tony Quarrington on Sandgate as home to HG Wells [Video]

2021 Margaret and Reg Turnill Prize

Jessica Brien reading from Soup for Starters [Reading Live]

Clara Chiu reading from Masquerade [Video]

Sophia Felsinger reading from Bitter Plums [Video]

Sarah Holm reading from The Shopkeeper [Reading live]

Mia Ramage reading from The Collector’s Shop [Video]

Sumedha Sengupta reading from The Suitor [Reading live]

Winner: Sarah-Kate Simons reading from Swamp Thing [Reading Live]

Nathan Steward reading from Mask [Video

Weiyen Tan reading from Fear of the Mask [Reading Live]

2021 Senior Prize

Houssam Alissa: The Trojan Horse [Video]

Fija Callaghan: An Ephemeral Quality [Not reading]

Winner: Peter Collins: The Domino Effect [Not reading]

Simha Haddad reading from Fun and Games [Video]

Katherine Haynes reading from Dreams of Impossible Cowslips [Reading Live]

E. S. Heffernan reading from We, the Dead [Video]

Tony Hunter-Craig reading from Masks of Respectability [Video]

Bethany Ridley-Duff reading from The Other Face [Reading Live]

Lee Stoddart: Ham, Egg and Chips [Not reading]

Sarah Townend reading from The Beauty Parlour [Video]

Dan Vanvick reading from The Enemy Next Door [Video]

Stephen Webb reading from Area 37 [Video]