Vision - anthology poster

The HG Wells Short Story Competition Awards Ceremony 2020

This Sunday 22nd November, at noon GMT (12pm UTC +0), is the Award Ceremony of the 2020 HG Wells Short Story Competition.

We are going to livestream the event to our Facebook page at

In addition to the presentation by, and live Q&A with, Sarah Anthony there will be also be readings from our shortlisted stories by their authors

All shortlisted authors will receive a copy of this years anthology “Flight” featuring theirstory and ALL shortlisted stories this year. The anthology is also available to purchase.

Our running order for readings will be:

2020 Margaret and Reg Turnill Prize

  • Priyadarshini Barua: Murder of Elm [Reading live]
  • Hannah Jennison: Can You See Me Now? [Reading live]
  • Tesni Penney: A Monochrome World [Reading live]
  • Tabitha Rubens: The Invisible Zoo [Video]
  • Dewi Schmidt: The Boy Who Could See [Video]
  • Matilda Stepek: The Body’s Mistakes [Video]
  • Lucy Thynne: Hockney Green [Reading live]

2020 Grand Senior Prize

  • Gemma Al-Khayat: The Inconceivable [Reading live]
  • Elou Carroll: The Great Green Forever [Video pledged]
  • Ian Critchley: Hillman’s Imp [Reading live]
  • Matthew Dickens: Afterimages [Reading live]
  • Alwin George V: Sitaram—The Footreader [Video]
  • Rhiannon Lewis: The Last Flight of La Librairie d’Afrique du Nord [Video]
  • Susannah Rickards: Curiosities of the Eye [Video]
  • Paul Sherman: Rocket Shed to Heaven [Video]
  • Francine van den Berg: God is a Butterfly [Reading live]
  • Ali Wilding: The Gift of Sight [Video pledged]

The running order will be Sarah Anthony’s presentation and Q&A, readings from our authors, and then the announcement of the winner of the 2020 Margaret and Reg Turnill Prize and 2020 Grand Senior Prize. We expect to be finished between 1.30 – 2pm.