H G Wells Short Story Competition Shortlists 2020


September 21, 2020 by Tim Prater

We are delighted to announce our two shortlists for the prestigious H G Wells Short Story Competition 2020 on the theme “Vision”.

We have received a high level of entries this year of excellent quality from talented writers across the world!

The judges have selected the following stories for the 2020 shortlists (listed below in alphabetical order).

Shortlist for Junior Competition, The Margaret and Reg Turnill Prize of £1,000

A Monochrome World – Tesni Penney (UK)
Can You See Me Now? – Hannah Jennison (UK)
Hockney Green – Lucy Thynne (UK)
Murder of Elm – Priyadarshini Barua (India)
The Body’s Mistakes – Matilda Stepek (UK)
The Boy Who Could See – Dewi Schmidt (Netherlands)
The Invisible Zoo – Tabitha Rubens (UK)
The Legend of Evander and Acantha or How Peacock Butterflies Came To Be – Isabel Burns (UK)
What is Our Purpose but to Die? – Utshaa Basu (India)

Shortlist for the Senior Competition, The Grand Prize of £500

Afterimages – Matthew Dickens (UK)
Curiosities of the Eye – Susannah Rickards (UK)
God is a Butterfly – Francine Van Den Berg (UK)
Hillman’s Imp – Ian Critchley (UK)
His White Fields – Newton Grange (UK)
Rocket Shed to Heaven – Paul Sherman (UK)
Sitaram – the Footreader – Alwin George V (India)
The Gift of Sight – Ali Wilding (USA)
The Great Green Forever – Elou Carroll (UK)
The Inconceivable – Gemma Al-Khayat (UK)
The Last Flight of La Librairie d’Afrique du Nord – Rhiannon Lewis (UK)

Many congratulations to the shortlisted writers and we look forward to meeting many of you at the Awards Ceremony on Sunday 22nd November 2020 – further details will be emailed to shortlisted authors soon.


Theme: Vision

Entries for our 2020 Competition closed on Monday 6th July 2020.

Shortlist announcement Monday 21st September, Winner to be announced Sunday 22nd November.

For further information, please read the rules and FAQs below. If you cannot find the answer to your query there, you can email hgwellscompetition@gmail.com

Join us on Facebook

On Twitter