The 2019 H G Wells Short Story Competition Anthology: Time


November 27, 2019 by Tim Prater

Time contains twenty of the best short stories on the theme of Time selected by the judges from a large entry for the 2019 H.G. Wells Short Story Competition.

Stories are divided into two groups: authors 21 years of age and under and authors aged 22 years and above and include works by Kirsty Balfour, Natalie Boal, Hiya Chowdhury, Sinéad Donaghy, James Huang, Meg Lintern, Laura Maria Steel Pascual, Bethany Ridley-Duff, Shelby de Rond, Krystal Song, Lee Amoss, Charlotte Bracey, David Bradley, Frances Brindle, Cheryl Buck, Lesley Bungay, Beverley Haddon, Matthew McDonald, Saritha Rao Rayachoti and Fiona Salter.

Available to buy now.

Edited by Liz Joyce, Tony Scofield & Lee Stoddart, 2019

184 pages. ISBN 978-0-9955730-5-5.



Theme: Switch

Entries for our 2022 Competition will open in January.

Deadline for entries will be Monday 11th July (midnight BST). Shortlist announcement Wednesday 21st September. Winners to be announced Sunday 20th November.

For further information, please read the rules and FAQs below. If you cannot find the answer to your query there, you can email

On Twitter