2019 HG Wells Short Story Competition Shortlists


September 21, 2019 by Tim Prater

We are delighted to announce our two shortlists for the prestigious H G Wells Short Story Competition 2019.

We have received a high level of entries this year of excellent quality from talented writers across the world!

The judges have selected the following stories for the 2019 shortlists (listed below in alphabetical order).

Shortlist for Junior Competition, The Margaret and Reg Turnill Prize of £1,000

  • Beginning at the End, Hiya Chowdhury (India)
  • Coffee and Clocks – Kirsty Balfour (UK)
  • Da Capo – Krystal Song (USA)
  • Lemons – Laura Maria Steel Pascual (Spain)
  • One Day at a Time – Sinead Donaghy (UK)
  • Seven Days – Bethany Ridley-Duff (UK)
  • Silver Tongue – Shelby de Rond (UK)
  • So Swiftly Fleeting – James Huang (USA)
  • The Waiting Room – Meg Lintern (UK)
  • Tick, Tick – Natalie Boal (UK)

Shortlist for the Senior Competition, The Grand Prize of £250

  • An Alternate Ending – Beverley Haddon (UK)
  • Daylight means daylight – Charlotte Bracey (UK)
  • Extra Time – Frances Brindle (UK)
  • Life Expectancy – David Bradley (UK)
  • Marking Time – Saritha Rao Rayachoti (India)
  • No Changes – Matthew McDonald (Germany)
  • Stolen Hours – Lee Amoss (UK)
  • The Garden – Cheryl Buck (UK)
  • The Glass Delusion – Fiona Salter (UK)
  • The Last Walk – Lesley Bungay (UK)

Many congratulations to the shortlisted writers and we look forward to meeting many of you at the Awards Ceremony at the Grand, Folkestone, Kent CT20 2XL on Sunday 24th November 2019 – further details will be emailed to shortlisted authors soon.