2018 HG Wells Short Story Competition Winners


November 25, 2018 by Tim Prater

Abaan Zaidi

Abaan Zaidi: Winner of the 2018 Turnill Prize

At the annual Awards Ceremony on the afternoon of Sunday 25h November at The Grand on The Leas, Folkestone, the organisers of the HG Wells Short Story Competition were delighted to announce the winners of the 2018 competition.The Winner of the Junior £1,000 Turnill Prize is Abaan Zaidi for “In the Light of the Crescent Moon”.The winner of the Senior £250 Grand Prize is Wendy Riley for “Yue’s Story”.Thank you to each and every person that entered the 2018 competitions, and congratulations to our winners and all our shortlisted authors.

Wendy Riley: Winner of the 2018 Grand Prize

This years competition had more entries than for many years, and to pick just two winners was a harder job than ever.An anthology of the 2018 shortlisted stories will be available to purchase shortly via the HG Wells Short Story Competition website, and we will also publish the two winning stories on the site.


Theme: Motion

Winners to be announced Sunday 19th November.

For further information, please read the rules and FAQs below. If you cannot find the answer to your query there, you can email hgwellscompetition@gmail.com

Join us on Facebook

On Twitter