2018 Awards Ceremony Programme


October 23, 2018 by Tim Prater

Programme for the Awards Ceremony – Sunday 25th November 2018

at The Grand, The Leas, Folkestone

Master of Ceremonies: Charles Bain Smith (Chair of Judges)

12.00 Arrival and welcome to Awards Ceremony in the Drawing Room

Welcome drink / tea or coffee

1230 Opening remarks by Charles Bain Smith

Talk by Norah Perkins of Curtis Brown

13.00 Buffet lunch

Dessert and coffee
– Accompanied with video readings from authors unable to attend

14.00 Readings from shortlisted stories

14.30 The Awards

The Grand Prize (senior prize), courtesy of Michael Stainer – awarded by Norah Perkins

The Margaret and Reg Turnill Prize (junior prize), courtesy of Margaret and Reg Turnill – awarded by Norah Perkins

Certificates & Anthologies for shortlisted runners up
– awarded by Charlie Bain Smith


14.50  Announcement of next year’s theme and dates

15.00 Close

We should be grateful if, before leaving, you would fill out our feedback form and pass it to any committee member. This helps us improve future competitions and events.

Thank you.


Theme: MASK

Entries for our 2021 Competition close on Monday 12th July 2021.

Shortlist announcement Tuesday 21st September, Winner to be announced Sunday 21st November.

For further information, please read the rules and FAQs below. If you cannot find the answer to your query there, you can email hgwellscompetition@gmail.com

On Twitter