2017 H G Wells Competition Anthology: Light


November 21, 2017 by Gary Fuller


Edited by Charles Bain Smith


181 pages. ISBN 978-0-9955730-1-7.


Available now, Light contains twenty of the best short stories on the theme of Light selected by the judges from a large entry for the 2017 H.G. Wells Short Story Competition.

Stories are divided into two groups: authors 21 years of age and under and authors aged 22 years and above and include works by:

Hazel Atkinson, Mina Bixley, Malak Elsouri, Grace Howarth, Kaylene Jackmore, Francesca Kennedy, Elizabeth Kuiper, Laura Steel Pascual, Sithara Ranasinghe, Ashira Shirali, Alex Reece Abbott, Dianne Bown-Wilson, D R D Bruton, Mark Howard, Anthony Howcroft, Robin Jones, Sally Lane, Anne Petrie and Louise Rimmer.


Theme: Switch

Entries for our 2022 Competition will open in January.

Deadline for entries will be Monday 11th July (midnight BST). Shortlist announcement Wednesday 21st September. Winners to be announced Sunday 20th November.

For further information, please read the rules and FAQs below. If you cannot find the answer to your query there, you can email hgwellscompetition@gmail.com

On Twitter