2017 H G Wells Competition Winners: The Stories


November 20, 2017 by Gary Fuller

The H G Wells Short Story Competition are delighted to present a free PDF collection of the three award winning stories from our 2017 competition.

  • Hazel Atkinson’s ”Venus Rising”  is the Margaret and Reg Turnill Prize Winner (£1000);
  • Alex Reece Abbott’s “When the Call Comes” is the Grand Prize Winner (£250);
  • Robin Jones’ “Alone into the Alone” is the Judges’ Special Commendation prize (£100).

As in past years, a full anthology of all short-listed entries will be available soon.

Congratulations to all our winners.

2017 winning stories


Theme: MASK

Entries for our 2021 Competition close on Monday 12th July 2021.

Shortlist announcement Tuesday 21st September, Winner to be announced Sunday 21st November.

For further information, please read the rules and FAQs below. If you cannot find the answer to your query there, you can email hgwellscompetition@gmail.com

On Twitter