Shortlists Announced!


September 20, 2016 by Gary Fuller

There has been a bumper crop of entries this year for the H G Wells Short Story Competition 2016.

We are very pleased to announce the following writers have been shortlisted for our prizes:

Margaret and Reg Turnill Prize (£1,000)

Holly Cartwright, The Fallow Sons of a Failed Astronaut; Caitlin Evans, The Disturbance; Allison Stevick, Star Sailor; Charlotte Mullen, Strange Space; Eve Lytollis, Countdown; Emma Strutt, Beyond This;Laura Maria Steel Pascual, Strawberries; Grace Haddon, The Sky is Black and Endless; Jake Trimmer, Aurora; Alice Sargent, Not Enough Space in This World; Victoria Wang, Shark’s Fin Soup.


The Grand Prize (£250)

Senior shortlisted entries: Diane Wisdom, Many Voyages Earth-Ward, Many Journeys Sun-Ward; D J Digham, The Death of The Immortals; Kate Jefford, The Armoire; Wei-Li Chin, De-Militarised Zones; David Norman, Man of the House; Hilary Dean, Cats and Mould; Michele Sheldon, The Promised Land; Anne Petrie, The Architecture of a Norman Church; Anne Petrie, Space Wars.


Many congratulations to all the shortlisted writers who are warmly invited to the awards ceremony at the Grand, the Leas, Folkestone, CT20 2XL on Sunday 27 November at 12 for 1230.

Those shortlisted for the junior prize, the Margaret and Reg Turnill Award, are warmly invited to bring an accompanying friend or relative to the awards ceremony as our guest.

All competition winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on Sunday 27th November, more details to follow!




Theme: MASK

Entries for our 2021 Competition closed on Monday 12th July 2021.

Shortlist announcement Tuesday 21st September, Winner to be announced Sunday 21st November.

For further information, please read the rules and FAQs below. If you cannot find the answer to your query there, you can email

On Twitter